EDS 131 In A Nutshell

1432682270

For my final eJournal entry, I would like to summarize everything that I have learned according to my previous entries (plus some).

On my entry for Module 1, I showed the difference between a teacher and a facilitator and how I have transitioned from the former to the latter. This change of heart came to be because of my realization that my class should be learner-centered for it to be effective. The use of a variety of teaching techniques will also help in achieving the learning objectives that have been set at the beginning of the course.

I also completed the table that showed the difference between a teacher and a facilitator –

Teacher Facilitator
Lectures Aids in discussions
Information comes from the teacher Participates and guides during lesson presentations
Center of attention Teaching is learner-centered
Large class Small grouping
PowerPoint presentations and other visual aids Scenarios, handouts, and group activities
Controls activities Indirect control of activities

 

My entry for Module 2 centered on Kegan’s 5th Order of Consciousness. I agreed with Kegan with his proposal on the different levels of consciousness wherein wisdom comes at a certain adult age (though there are adults that do not fall on this ideal category).

Having scrutinized the role of social relationships in adult development, I also realized that having other worlds beyond ourselves could spell the difference between being mature and immature. Psychological autonomy may not be the fullest picture of maturity, so says one of our reading materials and I happen to agree with this as building social links is needful even for the brightest minds.

We could spend our entire lifetime going through the process of development and onto the fifth and final level of consciousness. Whether I am on my way there is clearly evidenced by how I am learning to deal with self-formation through the practice of self-critiquing, dealing with oxymoron, even living with opposition.

Practicing a religion also helped me enjoy blessings where I get to love myself and others equally. ‘Loving one’s enemies? I have already gotten in touch with my former enemies and established communication with them once more.

Kegan’s 5th Level of Consciousness made me realize that factual knowledge may not even be necessary to attain wisdom. A well-rounded personality is what it takes to exist in a society and function in one’s culture.

Module 3 introduced me to Malcolm S. Knowles and his description of andragogy. The self-direction in adults is what separates them from children and teenagers. Andragogy is a model of adult learning theory.

As adults, we need to continue transforming as we learn throughout our lives and as we face responsibilities and pressures. Living optimistically despite opposition is also one of the things that adults must learn to live with.

We were even introduced to a formula –

 

M = L/P

“This proposes that the margin becomes highly available the more that the power is related to the load. This load-power ratio is ever-changing throughout our adult lives. Based on this mathematical equation, the load factors are career, family, goals, socio-economic status, even our self-concept.

The power factors, on the other hand, are physical, mental, social, economic or skills-based (e.g. position, money, stamina, energy, health, reasoning capacity, etc.).”

Margin Theory is applicable to all educators in the sense that we need to live a balanced life in order to function well. In my example from my previous blog, I cited how when ill, I have two options – one is to seek a physician’s help or to linger with the illness and suffer the consequence.

Since I am a responsible teacher, I will choose to regain my strength and health so that I will be able to teach and manage my school loads.

The lesson on Module 3 also made me realize that my level of teaching confidence is there because of years of experience; though this can be attained by someone who’s 20 years older than me and has decided to shift to a career in teaching. With the right attitude and requirements met, this same individual could even become my boss.

Module 4 entry is all about successful intelligence. where I was enamored by our topic on being street smart vs. being book smart. I realized that I have been book smart all along. That story regarding the bear and the two boys reiterated the fact that successful intelligence is measured by one’s creativity, analytical prowess and practical skills.

My Module 5 entry praised Paulo Freire and his contributions to adult education. I was emotionally engaged when I read portions of his book, Pedagogy of the Oppressed. My strong emotions have a lot to do with my enthusiasm for feminism and all things and issues pertaining the female species. I even bragged about my blog for nine years, Women’s Nook, which feature famous women and what they have contributed to the society. I also write about women’s rights.

Still on Freire, he taught about illiteracy among third-world nations. He categorized giving in to social abuse as another case of illiteracy and I couldn’t agree more. I want to reiterate that the abused need to recognize the abuse that is happening to them. A sense of solidarity must also be established among the oppressed.

I also shared my personal experiences on some cases of abuse that I have helped with. For those who want to reminisce, check out that blog here.

My entry for Modules 7 and 8 focused on illiteracy and how it should be addressed. No government can shoulder this problem on its own. As citizens, we need to alleviate illiteracy by playing our parts especially since we are studying to become educators.

On my end, I can begin by fostering the love for reading. When our students feel this, they will be able to radiate the same feeling to their families. No matter how small, we will eventually make a dent on this global problem called illiteracy.

Check out this PowerPoint presentation that shows literacy rate per continent. Looking at these visual data, one would realize the gap that we still need to fill in to make the world an equitable place to live in – Unit 4_Literacy Rate Per Continent

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

