Learning for Multiple Intelligences

7b9636a30161dae4b08a3ee48af839fd

So, we were asked to travel back in time and imagine how we would have approached learning differently. Now that we know the different forms of assessment, their pros and cons, and the circumstances under which they are implemented; we can now determine how to better assess learning (even our teaching practices).

Had I known all these things when I was in high school or even as a primary learner, I would have identified my strengths first and aimed at developing them. Thanks to my biological dad’s genes, though, I am quite logical and linguistically-inclined. I thank God also that because of the curricula during our time (academics-centered), I was considered excellent by my teachers.

I was always on the top three list in our entire school during my elementary years. My grades became the basis for my teachers to suggest that I take the entrance exam at the Manila Science High School. Luckily, I passed. I was 69th among the thousands that took the exam. I also experienced being a part of the top five in our class during these years.

My point is, I was lucky to be assessed in a system that focused on academics (which I am good at). Had I been like my daughter or my son (they took on the intelligence of their father who is an amazing visual artist), I would have suffered and might have also been labeled as dull when assessed back then.

My heart goes out to all the other students who did not participate during our English, Math or Science classes, all because the teaching methods did not consider how to make the class more enticing for those who are musically-inclined or those who are naturalists.

Our fourth module readings made me realize that the Philippine educational system may not be on par with other countries in terms of multiple intelligence curricula yet but we are definitely on the right track.

Also, with future teachers like us who now know the different forms of assessment and their benefits, we can customize the way we estimate the learning progress of our students. Armed with correct knowledge and their application, we can now become instruments of change.

Leave a Reply

