Altering Teacher Shella

womensnook

I began the term with a warm heart as EDS 103 required a lot of blogging. This to me is second nature so I said, it would be easy for me to breeze through the subject, pick up some knowledge and move forward.

I was not ready for the information tsunami that came my way (I mean, don’t get me wrong, this is the first time a tsunami becomes a positive noun). I was used to the thought that I can go to my class with a lesson plan, I teach, then the class ends, the students learn. Alas, this was not the ideal setup.

Going through this course made me realize a lot of things about my students. First, that they are not all the same. In fact, each has a different kind of intelligence, learning style, even behaviors and attitudes. Even when most are visual learners, the one or two students who could be tactile learners should be given attention, too.

Teaching, for me now, is so much like motherhood rather than a mere job. As a mother, I need to look after my children’s individual needs. Each one has a different attention span and a different set of skills. I should also show appreciation to all and not just to those whom I favor.

I am not just a stage performer in class anymore. Now, I am more of a variety show host. My audience interacts with me. Can I say that I am a better teacher?

Absolutely.

While I do believe that students can respond to environmental stimuli when learning, I also strongly believe that there are processes happening right up the human brain which are just being explored by the greatest minds. I cannot say that I favor behaviorism over cognitivism, rather, I believe that each affects knowledge and knowledge acquisition. After all, the human mind is not just there to be acted upon, it can also react, so learning is a process that involves both external and internal processes.

Am I a perfect teacher? Of course not – but I am a tad better than who I was prior to this term.

 

2 comments

    • With regard to being perfect, of course, there will be phases of our teaching experiences when we can say that we have done a hundred-percent. As to the whole aspect of teaching, it is a life-long process. Whether we reach that elusive perfection is really up to us. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

