I Am Intelligent – Or Am I?

We have been asked in our class, just recently, whether we regard ourselves to be intelligent. For the longest time, I took pride in the notion that I am intelligent. After all, I got accepted in the University of the Philippines so isn’t that sort of automatic? I am also quick to point any grammatical or spelling errors so, naturally, I should be considered intelligent, right?

My husband and I have also often discussed whether having low grades in school or having no academic medals is tantamount to being unintelligent. Such discussions spur from the idea that I am the only left-brained member of the family (my hubby and kids are all into arts but are ho-hum when it comes to academics).

So, am I intelligent or what? 

ID-100299326

Being Erudite 

Having read about intelligence, its components and the pathways leading to intelligence, I now know that there are many types of intelligence. Based on these types, my intelligence can only be categorized under being word smart and self-smart (linguistic intelligence and intra-personal intelligence, respectively). There are many others namely –

  • naturalist intelligence
  • musical intelligence (I felt nauseous when my music teacher in high school asked us to identify the different notes)
  • mathematical/logical intelligence
  • existential intelligence
  • interpersonal intelligence
  • bodily-kinesthetic intelligence
  • and spatial intelligence.

Okay, so there are nine kinds of intelligence and I am good at only two, at least due to my self-assessment (mental note to self: be sure to think more deeply about intelligence). Having this new knowledge, I remain confident in my previous belief (whisper to self: that I am intelligent). As a learner, I have always approached my study through an organized, often-arranged-in-a-framework strategy. I scour for keywords, write and rewrite, even read to myself just to make sense out of what I am trying to comprehend. As a teacher, I carry over this practice to planning and presenting my lessons (I have mentioned on my previous posts that I teach LDS theology). Visual aids such as Powerpoint presentations, videos and charts as well as music are also a huge part of my lessons.

I guess what I can add to this systematic approach is a little creativity/artistry here and there. I am not a huge fan of dramatizations, only buzz sessions and panel discussions. Knowing that there are different kinds of intelligence as there are different kinds of students, it made me realize that I should diversify my approach to teaching. As a proud Erudite, I should also be able to cater to members of Abnegation, Candor or Dauntless (tongue in cheek!).

Anyways, you do get the picture.

􀀃

One comment

Leave a Reply

